John Jay School for Law Logo

JOHN JAY SCHOOL FOR LAW
PARK SLOPE, BROOKLYN NY

PTA MEETING_ PTA ELECTION1024_1.png
CHOP IT UP WITH PRINCIPAL AKIL1024_1.jpg
CHOP IT UP WITH PRINCIPAL AKIL1024_1.jpg
Purple & Blue Gradient Business Flyer Portrait.png

With a strong commitment to the ideals of justice and equity, John Jay School for Law aspires to empower students to think critically, write analytically, and speak passionately.

 

At John Jay School for Law students will harness critical thinking skills, such as questioning, investigation, and self-directed learning, to confidently enter urgent academic conversations as authentic speakers, persuasive writers, and creative problem solvers; their investigation culminates in a senior thesis symposium.

Mission

Instructional Focus

NEWS & ANNOUNCEMENTS

JOHN JAY SCHOOL FOR LAW 
WEEKLY UPDATE

Crown

MR & MS JOHN JAY
BLACK HISTORY MONTH PAGEANT

 
IMG_8334.JPG

ABOUT JOHN JAY SCHOOL FOR LAW

With a strong commitment to the ideals of justice and equity, John Jay School for Law aspires to empower students to empower students to think critically, write analytically and speak passionately. 

 

The John Jay School for Law community is committed to developing all students into productive contributors to our global society, while empowering them with 21st century skills. Our beliefs are embedded in all of our endeavors which contribute to establishing full,  responsible, and meaningful lives. 

University Student

4

FOUR YEAR COLLEGE PREP COURSE SEQUENCE
(This will vary according to the unique academic progress of each scholar.)

Algebra I

Pre-AP English I

Pre-AP World History

Living Environment

Physical Education

Art

Collegiate Prep I

Geometry

Pre-AP English II

AP World History

AP Biology

Physical Education

Spanish I

Collegiate Prep II

Algebra II/Trigonometry

AP English Language & Comp

AP US History

AP Chemistry

Physical Education

Spanish II

Collegiate Prep III

Pre-Calculus

AP English Language & Lit

AP US Government

AP Physics

Physical Education

Spanish III

Collegiate Prep IV

Freshman

Sophomore

Junior

CURRENT OFFERING OF ADVANCED PLACEMENT & HONORS COURSES 

Honors Pre-Calculus

AP Statistics

AP Biology

AP Chemistry

AP Physics

AP English Language  & Comp

AP English Language & Lit

AP World History

AP US HIstory

AP US Government

AP Computer Science Principles

Math

Science

Humanities

 
 

MEET OUR STAFF

 

Senior

Technology

Shomari Akil

Principal I.A.

sakil2@schools.nyc.gov

Yelena Shtyrkalo

Assistant Principal

yshtyrkalo@schools.nyc.gov

Tim Gilroy

Assistant Principal of Special Education

tgilroy@schools.nyc.gov

Wanda Sheffield

Parent Coordinator

wsheffield@schools.nyc.gov

Montez Nash

Testing Coordinator & Restorative Justice Coordinator

bnash2@schools.nyc.gov

Angelina Ramos

School Counselor

aramos7@schools.nyc.gov

Maxine Rose

School Counselor

mrose8@schools.nyc.gov

Stella Szpunt

School Counselor

sszpunt@schools.nyc.gov

Ayanna Fox

Social Worker

afox20@schools.nyc.gov

Francis Shinair

Peer Collaborative Teacher

AP Coordinator

sfrancis2@schools.nyc.gov

Jean Calixte

Peer Collaborative Teacher

IEP Coordinator

Joelda Lamour

Teacher Leaders

jlamour3@schools.nyc.gov

Rasheed Rankine

College & Career Planning Coordinator

rrankine@schools.nyc.gov

 

Seth Adams

Technology Coordinator

sadams30@schools.nyc.gov

Emily Sweeney

UFT Chapter Chairperson

esweeney3@schools.nyc.gov

School Leadership

CONTACT OUR PARENT COORDINATOR

Wanda Sheffield, Parent Coordinator

Office: (718) 832-4253

Cell: (917) 318-1781

237 7th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11215